Okay, you can’t exactly call this a haul because I only bought two items but they are expensive okay? Expensive enough for Nykaa to send me a free nail polish and all. I bought this. See picture below.

IMG_20160418_161154

So the thing is, besides Nykaa, I don’t know many websites that stock as many beauty brands and products. Do you know any? I recently tried beautybay.com but their parcel that was dispatched on the 6th of April hasn’t made it to my place yet so, yeah, confidence is nosediving. Majorly.

Anyway, let’s get on with the review, shall we?

First things first. The interface of Nykaa is extremely average and very, very sales-y. I mean , just look at all these offers. And this is when you just log on to the website.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 3.17.53 pm

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 3.18.43 pm

 

So, yeah, I don’t like the interface too much. They could definitely use some decluttering of the website. Have things look cleaner, nicer and make the shopping experience more relaxed than having to catch a sale you might miss.

They have a section that called Bestsellers but it is quite exhaustive and there’s too many to hold my interest.

Screen Shot 2016-04-18 at 4.49.48 pm

 

There’s also a section called Nykaa Recommends but I didn’t find anything extraordinary in this section. I see what they are trying to do though – it helps to think that the brand is backing some of these up, except that it isn’t. Except its own nail paints. It’s probably backing those up. Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 3.18.24 pm

 

Once you plonk some items in your bag, it’s time to check out. And try and get something over Rs.2000- you get a free nail enamel? Too much to spend for free nail polish- yes it is.

So here’s what you have to do.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 4.05.08 pm

Then, because they want to send you emails and hound you, they ask you to sign up.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 4.05.47 pm

 

Then they ask you where they should drop the items off, you know, shipping.

Screen Shot 2016-04-12 at 4.06.25 pm

And then you give up 4 lunches and a child to afford the makeup you just bought. They said I would get the products in two days time and I did get the mascara and nail paint then. The palette came in later- about 4 days from the order. They keep you update via messages and emails.

I got an email from the asking for feedback for them asking for reviews of the products but hey, that’s a blog post for me.

Can I also please mention here that for a beauty brand, their packaging is absolutely hideous and the products look like little things swaddled in bubble wrap. Have a look.

IMG_20160414_163844IMG_20160414_164642

Verdict: With limited options to buy cosmetics from, Nykaa is the best we have right now and they do deliver on time. Amazon and Flipkart do offer these products but I would rather buy from a company that has its feet deeply into this category. That being said, the prices are as they are anywhere else and occasionally, you might be able to score a deal. I do mean occasionally. 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*
*

Kromakay Entrance
Salon Review : Kromakay, Juhu
Spa Review: Tattva Spa, Mumbai. Where Luxury Meets Affordability
Liv It Up
Don’t Wake Up With a Hangover. Liv It Up is here.
Should You Go Pro on Gaana? Find out with this App Review
Kiko Milano
#Firstlook and Store Walkthrough : Kiko Milano, Seawoods Grand Central Mall
Black Tee Fashion
5 Ways to Wear Your Basic Black Tee- Plus Size Fashion
Kiko Milano
Kiko Milano is Coming To Mumbai. Finally.
Lakme 9 to 5 Powder Foundation
Makeup Review: Lakme 9 to 5 Primer + Matte Powder Foundation
Shower Sex
5 Things They Don’t Tell You About Shower Sex
Healthy Relationship
5 Healthy Things You Can Do For Your Relationship, Right Now
Hourly Hotels
4 Websites Where You Can Book Hotels By The Hour. For Your Pleasure
5 Tips To Avoid (Or atleast try) Putting on Weight This Diwali
Health
5 Simple Hacks To Get Healthier
Rakhi Brother 2017
Dear Brother, I Don’t Want Your Protection. I Will Take These Instead
Lipstick Under My Burkha
Lipstick Under My Burkha Is The Best Form Of Feminism
5 Tips To Avoid (Or atleast try) Putting on Weight This Diwali
Vistaprint
Review: Printing Your Visting Cards With Vistaprint
Kickstart Your Journey To Stardom
Should You Go Pro on Gaana? Find out with this App Review
Website Review: LittleApp.in
Powerhouse Gym, Juhu : Walkthrough and Tour
Hotel Review: Saj By The Lake, Malshej Ghat
Hotel Review: Vivanta By Taj, Cuffe Parade
Event Review: Sab Chalta Hai, The Barking Deer